Chinese Football Market Update | Aug 29

Chinese Football Update: By Aug 29

China League One

1. Date to start the league: 

Sept 12th, Stage One

2. Teams and groups:

Group A:

Chengdu Better City, Beijing Renhe, Hohhot

Beijing BSU, Taizhou Yuanda, Suzhou Dongwu

— Location: Chengdu City, Sichuan Province

Group B:

Meizhou Hakka, Guizhou Hengfeng, Zhejiang Greentown

Shaanxi Chang’an Athletic, Liaoning Shenyang Urban, Jiangxi Liansheng

— Location: Meizhou City, Guangdong Province

Group C:

Kunshan FC, Heilongjiang FC, Changchun Yatai

Nantong Zhiyun, Xinjiang Leopard, Sichuan UBtech

— Location: Changzhou City, Jiangsu Province

3. Rules:

Six of the top two teams in each division will be in the knockout round, with the other 12 in the two relegation groups for the second phase of the single round, which is scheduled to begin on October 24.

This season, the number of promotion places has been decreased from 2 to 1.5. The first place in China League One will be promoted to the Chinese Super League. 

The second place will hold a promotion play-off with the 15th place of the Chinese Super League to compete for another place for promotion. 

The relegation quota has been changed from three to two.

The maximum number of foreign players in each team’s 23-player squad for each match is 3, and the maximum number of players playing at the same time is 2. The annual accumulative registration for the foreign player is 4 max;

In each match, each team shall keep at least one U23 player (a non-Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan domestic player born on or after January 1, 1997) on the field, except for the reasons such as leaving the field due to injury, the quota of substitutes having been used up, or being sent off for red card, etc.;

4.Transfer window:

Window 1: Jan 1st, 2020-Feb 28th, 2020

Window 2: July 2nd, 2020-5 working days before the start of the league

Window 3: TBD

Chinese Super League–CSL

1. Transfer window:

Window 1: Jan 1st, 2020-Feb 28th, 2020

Window 2: July 2nd, 2020-July 29th, 2020

Window 3: Sept 1st, 2020-Sept 30th, 2020

2. Teams and groups:

Group A:

Guangzhou Evergrande, Jiangsu Suning, Shandong Luneng, Henan Jianye, Dalian Pro, Guangzhou R&F, Shanghai Shenhua, Shenzhen FC

— Location: Dalian City

Group B:

Beijing Guo’an, Shanghai SIPG, Wuhan Zall, Tianjin Teda, Chongqing Dangdai, Hebei CFFC, Qingdao Huanghai, Shijiazhuang Yongchang

— Location: Suzhou City

3. Table:

Note: First stage–14 rounds

New Transfers

English Football Club Brighton has officially announced the move of Australian midfielder Aaron Mooy to Shanghai SIPG. The player has been linked with SIPG since the beginning of the year. SIPG’s current midfielder Akhmedov’s contract expires at the end of the year.

China’s international transfer window will reopen on September 1.

Fans in the stadium

Suzhou has taken the lead in opening the stands to allow fans to enter. On August 22, about 2000 fans came to the scene to cheer for the Shanghai SIPG-Beijing Guoan match. 

From 8th to 9th round of the league, one game will be selected on each match day, and a total of 4 open test competitions will be held with open stand. From the 10th to 14th round of the league, the Organizing Committee of Suzhou competition area will further promote the opening of the spectator stands of the three competition venues according to the situation of the preliminary test games. 

China League Two

The U19 National team will most likely to participate in C2L in the new season. While the reserve team of CSL clubs have basically decided not to participate in China League Two.

More to read: